

# POTTSTOWN SCHOOL DISTRICT MINUTES OF THE RE-ORGANIZATION MEETING

December 2, 2021

The Re-Organization Meeting for the Board of School Directors of the Pottstown School District was held on Thursday, December 2, 2021 at 6:30 PM in the Cafeteria of the Pottstown High School with President Mrs. Amy Francis presiding. Upon roll call, the following members were present: Mr. John Armato, Mrs. Ms. Katina Bearden, Mr. Thomas Hylton, Mr. Steve Kline, Mrs. Laura Johnson, Mrs. Susan Lawrence and Mr. Raymond Rose. Absent was Mrs. Bonita Barnhill. Also present were Superintendent, Mr. Stephen Rodriguez; Board Secretary, Mrs. Maureen Jampo; Director of Human Resources, Mr. Matthew Boyer; Solicitor, Mr. Stephen Kalis; Student Board Representative, Jimi Chalavaporn; and interested citizens.

#### **MINUTES**

Mrs. Jampo presented the minutes from the Regular Board meeting on November 18, 2021 to be placed on the December 16, 2021 Board agenda for approval.

## HEARINGS FROM THE PATRONS OF THE SCHOOLS

None.

## ADJOURN SINE DIE

The Secretary adjourned the meeting sine die at 6:43 pm.

## **BOARD RE-ORGANIZATION**

The Secretary proceeded to call roll of the hold over members. The following were present: Ms. Bearden, Mrs. Johnson, Mr. Kline, Mr. Hylton and Mrs. Lawrence.

#### **Notice of the Organization Meeting**

Mrs. Jampo read the Notice of the Organization Meeting as advertised in the Pottstown Mercury.

#### **Election of Temporary Chairperson**

Mrs. Jampo called for the nomination of a Temporary Chairperson. Ms. Bearden nominated Mrs. Lawrence.

There were no further nominations for a Temporary Chairperson. It was moved by Mrs. Johnson and seconded by Mr. Kline to close the nominations and appoint Mrs. Lawrence as Temporary Chairperson. All in favor. None opposed. Motion carried.

Mrs. Lawrence was appointed Temporary Chairperson.

## **Oath of Office: Board Members**

Mrs. Lawrence reviewed the certificates of election and presented the newly elected Board Members to Judge Scott Palladino who administered the Oath of Office to Mr. John Armato, Mrs. Phoebe Kancianic, Mr. Kurt Heidel and Ms. Deborah Spence. Certificates of elections will be filed in the Secretary's office as **Addendum #2021-2022-001.** 

Judge Palladino administered an Oath of Office to the Student Board Representatives, Mark Ellison III and Taylor Powell.

#### Roll Call

Mrs. Lawrence requested a roll call on the members now comprising the School Board.

Upon roll call the following members were present. Armato, Bearden, Hylton, Johnson, Kancianic, Kline, Johnson, Spence and Lawrence. Present: Nine. Absent: None. A quorum was present.

#### **Election of President**

The Temporary Chairperson called for nominations for President.

Mr. Kline nominated Ms. Bearden.

There were no further nominations for the Office of President. It was moved by Mr. Hylton and seconded by Mr. Armato to close the nominations. All were in favor. None opposed. Ayes: Nine. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Upon roll call vote for Ms. Bearden as Board President, the vote was recorded as follows: Armato; aye, Bearden: abstain; Hylton: aye, Kline: aye, Johnson: aye, Lawrence: aye, Kancianic: aye, Heidel: aye, Spence: aye. Ayes: Eight. Nays: None. Abstention: One. Motion carried.

Ms. Katina Bearden was declared Board President.

## **Election of Vice-President**

Ms. Bearden called for nominations for Vice-President.

Mrs. Johnson nominated Mr. Kline.

There were no further nominations for the Office of Vice-President. It was moved by Mr. Hylton and seconded by Mr. Armato to close the nominations. All were in favor. None opposed. Ayes: Nine. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Upon roll call vote for Mr. Kline as Vice-President, the vote was recorded as follows: Armato; aye, Bearden: aye; Hylton: aye, Kline: abstain, Johnson: aye, Lawrence: aye, Kancianic: aye, Heidel: aye, Spence: aye. Aye: Eight. Nays: None. Abstention: One. Motion carried.

Mr. Kline was declared the newly elected Vice-President.

## **Parliamentarian Procedures**

Appointment of Parliamentarian and Parliamentarian Procedures

It was moved by Mr. Hylton and second by Mrs. Johnson that the Board approve Mr. Kalis, Fox Rothschild LLP as the solicitor and approve Roberts Rules of Order and Parliamentary Procedure.

All members were in favor. Ayes: Nine. Nays: None. Motion carried.

## Signature Stamp

The Board President requests a motion to authorize the use of the existing signature stamp, if applicable, until a new one is prepared reflecting the Board's new officers.

It was moved by Mr. Kline and seconded by Ms. Bearden to approve the motion to authorize the use of the existing signature stamp as presented.

Upon roll call vote, all members voted aye. Ayes: Nine. Nays: None. Motion carried.

## **Committee Appointments**

<u>Standing Committees</u> assignment will to be determined at the January 2022 School Board Workshop. Ms. Bearden asked the board members to notify her of their interests in serving on the committees.

## **Adopt Time and Places for the 2022 Regular Board Meetings**

Ms. Bearden stated the 2022 meeting schedule will be reviewed and presented at the January Board workshop for discussion.

#### **INFORMATION**

Act 55: New School Board Director Training New Board Member Picture

## **ELECT BOARD TREASURER**

Mrs. Johnson volunteered to serve as Board Treasurer for the remaining term ending June 30, 2022 currently held by Mr. Kline. All members were in agreement. None opposed. Ayes: Nine. Nays: none. Motion carried.

Mrs. Johnson was appointed to serve as the Board Treasurer for the remaining term ending June 30, 2022.

## **ROUND TABLE**

Mr. Heidel thanked Mrs. Francis for her service to the students and community. He congratulated the new board members and looks forward to a positive new year.

Mrs. Johnson thanked the outgoing members and welcomed the new board members.

Mrs. Lawrence and Mr. Kline echoed Mrs. Johnson comments.

Mrs. Kancianic thanked the Board Members for inspiring her to run for school board and looks forward to continuing their great work.

Ms. Spence thanked everyone and looks forward to being a part of the team.

Mr. Armato congratulated the new members and student representatives and expressed a heartfelt thank you to the outgoing board members. He looks forward to continuing the work of a strong team focused on a common goal.

Mr. Chavalaporn thanked the outgoing board members for their work on behalf of all students. He welcomed the new members and student representatives and looks forward to working together.

Mr. Ellison looks forward to working with everyone and fulfilling his duties as a student board representative.

Mr. Rodriguez congratulated everyone and looks forward to working with the new team.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

Ms. Bearden asked for a motion to adjourn. It was moved by Mrs. Lawrence and seconded by Mr. Kline that the Board adjourns. None opposed. Motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 7:16 pm.

Maureen Jampo

**Board Secretary**